Adventures in Blogging – 3 Lessons From a New Blogger

“Fear is the mind killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me…Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”

Blogging has saved me. Blogging is my new therapist, motivator, and life coach. Blogging has forced me to confront my fears and write down my thoughts. For the longest time, I was afraid to start my own blog. Every time I thought about starting a blog, those nagging fears would pop in. What if no one reads it? What if no one wants to follow it? Admittedly, it was in the midst of a breakup that my fears were swept to the wayside and I found the courage to begin. I started my blog with the idea to promote my small business, but then it became something more as I found myself writing about my travels and adventures and reliving them. I’m still very new to blogging (only two weeks in), but here are a few things I’ve learned (and am still learning) along the way.

1) There is an audience for you

My main fear that no one would read my blog turned out to be untrue. After I published my first article, I woke up the next day and saw that one person viewed it. Hey a whole person read my article! Take that fear! Over time I was excited as the views, followers, and likes slowly crept up. As a (very) new blogger it’s still a slow climb and I am not even close to being one of those travel bloggers who travels around the world all while posing next to beaches while making passive income off my blog. But that’s OK, because I like the challenge of a slow climb and right now my goal is to share my stories of adventure and travel.

 2) The blogging community is your best friend

When you first start out you quickly learn that the blogging community is your greatest source of support and readership. WordPress.com’s reader has been the greatest referrer to my blog and it has been the best way for me to discover others blogs. Bloggers are incredibly supportive of one another offering advice, re-blogging articles, and commenting on posts. All of my followers are fellow bloggers. Using social media does help to generate some traffic, yet I’m still new to using it as a tool for self-promotion. I’ve mostly used Facebook and Instagram and I do see a small dent of traffic coming from those sites, but mostly it has been the blogging community itself that has been my greatest audience.

3) You get what you give

Blogging is a lot of work. Since I’m passionate about writing and sharing my travels and adventures it doesn’t feel like work at all, but I do spend a lot of time writing and putting together posts. As a new blogger, my goal right now is to produce a lot of content to in order to continue generating interest in my blog so I have been posting new articles almost every day. I’ve learned you have to give your audience something valuable when you are blogging, whether its tips and tricks or an entertaining story, there has to be something there for your readers. I also learned you get what you put back in. I like finding other blogs as well not just to build an audience, but also to find content I enjoy, to support other bloggers, and to get inspired.

 Ultimately, I’m glad I didn’t let fear prevail. While there is a great deal of vulnerability associated with sharing your thoughts on a blog, I’ve learned that bloggers are a brave bunch. Bloggers aren’t afraid to share a piece of themselves with the world. So if you’re a new blogger like me, I encourage you to keep climbing.

If you have a blog feel free to share it in the comments.

10 thoughts on “Adventures in Blogging – 3 Lessons From a New Blogger

Leave a Reply

