The Soap Diaries – Review of Innisfree Skin Care from South Korea

Innis Free Picture

I was first introduced to South Korean skin care when I was living in China. Pollution and stress had left my skin dull and lifeless and left me searching for products to bring my glow back. My search led me to South Korean skin-care brand Innisfree. Innisfree is a nature-inspired brand that uses natural ingredients, with many ingredients sourced from the Korean island of Jeju. Needless to say, I fell in love with the natural products that were reasonably priced and chock full of benefits for all types of skin. Here are a few of my favorites:

Innisfree It’s Real Squeeze Mask Sheet x 16 sheets

Yes, these are those sheet masks you wear over your face that make you look like a ghost. They are all the rage in Asia and I became obsessed with them. Sheet masks are inexpensive and chock full of amazing skincare ingredients like green tea, rose, and honey. I stocked up on these constantly. All you have to do is wear one over your face for fifteen minutes and let the skin goodness sink in. I have also used these on planes to freshen up my skin and they give you an instant dewy glow. My favorite Innisfree mask was the Bamboo sheet mask, which has a nice fresh scent and has bamboo extract in it (which is an excellent source of silica, a skin and hair friendly mineral).

Innisfree Super Volcanic Pore Clay Mask, 3.38 Ounce

I had a funny introduction to this product when one of the helpful store attendants in Innisfree, who spoke limited English, recommended this to me. Even though she couldn’t speak much English, she kept pointing at my face and saying in broken English, “It’s from volcano. It help your blackheads.” While I could have done without the scrutinizing of my “blackheads” I am glad she introduced me to this product. This is one of Innisfree’s most popular products and it really works. This mask really helps suck the gunk out of your pores and does help get rid of blackheads.


Innisfree Wine Jelly Sleeping Pack 80 millilitre

The name, “Wine Jelly Sleeping Pack” aroused my curiosity immediately. I love wine, so I opened a pack of this and was greeted with the scent of wine. Yes folks, this really smells like wine. The Wine Jelly Sleeping Pack is infused with red wine extracts from France. The texture does feel very silky and soft like jelly. You are supposed to put it on and then rinse it off, but I kept it on like a mask. The scent is pretty strong, so don’t leave it on if you are going out in public or if you don’t want to give people the impression that you are an alcoholic. I credit this sleeping pack with keeping my skin soft and supple when I lived in Northern California and was working outdoors exposed to the elements.

One of my favorite things about travel, aside from seeing new places and meeting new people, is being introduced to new beauty products and concepts of beauty. Innisfree is a great introduction to South Korean skincare, which is well-renowned throughout the world. If you are looking for another great introduction to South Korean beauty products I recommend the book The Little Book of Skin Care: Korean Beauty Secrets for Healthy, Glowing Skin.

Leave a Reply

